Daily Prompt: Much Obliged

In response to “Teacher’s Pet” in WordPress’s Daily Prompt:

Tell us about a teacher who had a real impact on your life, either for the better or the worse.  How is your life different today because of him or her?

“The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.”   ― William Arthur Ward

A set of glinting candles, bringing warmth to the surrounding people, keep beaming in chilly weather.  By the same token,  an inspiring teacher is just like those candles illuminating your soul and guiding you to the right track of learning process and optimistic life outlook.  In my entire learning years, I am sincerely endowed to have met two enlightening teachers who left an indeliable mark in my heart.

Those invigorating cards in my study room just stir up my blooming thoughts to Alky, who was a social worker in my secondary school, but I always regard her as my valuable mentor and an amicable confidant.  Throughout my entire secondary school life, I felt really at ease to pour my heart out to her about my leisurely pastimes, glee and sorrow, as well as innermost thoughts.  What a bliss when there is someone reliable to be my voice listener, someone whom I can count on in face of a tight spot and remind me the blessings I have already had.  It was also the time when my interest towards the field of Social Sciences first sparked.  Starting with her basic introduction of Psychology since Form Four, I steadily grasped a fair picture of Maslow’s and Erik Erikson’s theories, and even “ABC model” and Seligman’s Positive Psychology, to name but a few.  With her sustained back-up and our continual connection even in nowadays, she has been infusing me as to meaningful life facts, encouraging me to remain self-assured and strive for the best however choppy the future might be.

If Alky’s uplifting support is like a soul panacea, then Mr Chan’s wordings would certainly be aesthetic crafts for enhancing ideas flow.  Each time while completing an essay or writing a blog post, myriads of Mr Chan’s diversifying vocab choices would promptly spring up in my mind.   Always did the time go by in a brink of our eyes during his fast-paced yet fruitful lessons.  Varying my beneath of vocab choices and sentence structures, he never faltered in giving us advice on our writing styles in various types of articles, and even having our writings marked within a week.  Impressed by the wisdom gained from learning, I finally realize how colourfully broad an English world can be with suitable phrases beautifully collaborated.  Here, I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude to him, without him my language proficiency would not have sharpened much and I would not have figured out how fun-filled writing actually is.

Nothing can be more rewarding than raising the future pillars up and witnessing them thrive with provident goals.  Nothing can be more meaningful than engaging in this lifelong commitment to inculcate and impact the prospective leaders by heart.   Even up to now, I still stride in my own life path with their teaching at all times.  They have magically made a difference, just like those candles brightening up my way.  Much obliged. ♦

Leave a Reply

