Music: John Rutter’s “For the Beauty of the Earth” (Choir)

Listening to this tuneful, refreshing Christian hymn triggers a flashback to my days of weekly practice in the Choir long ago.  The vigorous passion, the unite consolidation that we shared and shined during our performances in Disneyland and Joint-School concerts.  Though reticent people considered me at that time, they were fascinated by my godsend singing talent whenever I started to sing the Soprano part.  A round of thunderous applause, audiences’ sincere admiration have fueled our confidence and motivation to hone our skills.  Even up to now, despite having quitted the Choir unwillingly due to my hectic studies,  my enthusiasm towards singing has never been chilled from first to last.  I swear to myself from within my heart, I will certainly make a comeback in a nearer future, and perform this Christian hymn once again under the glistening stage’s spotlight.

Feeling a sense of serenity and comfortable calmness, this piece of light-hearting Choir song has become one of my favourites.  Lying on the emerald lawns, listening to the harmonic symphony of the wide nature sound and flowing waters, watching blossoming daises and bushes swaying in the gentle breeze.  What a rich fortune to be alive and appreciate all those excellence with a huge capacity of goodness.  What’s more, nothing can be more precious than being surrounded by my love and beloved ones.  With all my hearty thoughts, they have been standing by my side and are whom I can turn to.  But for their irreplaceable presence and tireless support, my days wouldn’t have been so colourfuly enriched with a dazzling array of glee and cheer. All in all, the below praising lyrics fully express my hearty thoughts for all these endowed moments. ♦

© Copyright Reserved

Lyrics:

1. For the beauty of the earth,
For the beauty of the skies,
For the love which from our birth
Over and around us lies;
over and around us lies:
Lord of all, to thee we raise
This our joyful hymn of praise.

2. For the beauty of each hour
Of the day and of the night,
Hill and vale,
and tree and flower,
Sun and moon and stars of light:
Sun and moon and stars of light:
Lord of all, to thee we raise
This our joyful hymn of praise.

3. For the joy of human love,
Brother, sister, parent, child,
Friends on earth,
and friends above,
For all gentle thoughts and mild:
Lord of all, to thee we raise
This our joyful hymn of praise.

4. For each perfect gift of thine
To our race so freely given,
Graces human and divine,
Flow’rs of earth and buds of heav’n:
flow’rs of earth and buds of heav’n:
Lord of all, to thee we raise
This our joyful hymn of praise,
our hymn of praise  

Leave a Reply

